Sie sind hier://Egyptian hieroglyphs Part 4

Egyptian hieroglyphs Part 4


An even further development of Hieroglyphs is called Demotic. It does not contain any pictorial signs anymore, which could be explained by its attempted purpose of being the “writing for documents”, which is the translation of its Egyptian name sekh shat. Demotic was mainly used in administration and for literature.

Hieratic and Demotic are only two of the different developments of Egyptian, though there were quite a few more. These, however, are the most common ones.

We hope you enjoyed this brief overview of different developments of hieroglyphs and you can look forward to next week when we will tell you about the Rosetta Stone.


By |2018-04-23T13:03:42+00:00April 23rd, 2018|Alternative Kommunikation|

Cookie Preference

Please choose an option. You can find more information about the consequences of your choice via help.

select an option to continue

Your selection was saved!


Cookie Preference

To continue, you must make a cookie selection. Below is an explanation of the different options and their meaning.

  • Accept all Cookies:
    Accept all cookies: We use Google Analytics and Jetpack/Wordpress-stats as tracking tools to collect visitor statistics and improve our website. If you choose this option, you agree to the tracking.
  • Only allow necessary cookies:
    Only allow necessary cookies: Tracking tools (Google Analytics, Jetpack/ Wordpress-stats) are deactivated and only necessary cookies are allowed.

You can change your cookie setting here anytime: Data Privacy Statement. Legal Details